Castello di Rezzanello

Click here to 
Print this page

Biography finder





























Index of first names


The first historical evidence regarding the Rezzanello Castle dates back to a document of 1001, in which the bishop of Piacenza Sigifredo granted some land to the monks of San Savino including the properties of the manor.

Often the scene of clashes, the Castle in 1212 offered shelter to the Guelphs of Piacenza threatened by the Ghibellines, but the latter prevailed and with the help of the Visconti, they stormed the castle. Over the following centuries the building changed owners several times: in 1357 it was granted to the Boccapiccina family, then to the Chiapponi,

During the final part of the 16th century, following the profound reorganization to which the Benedictine order was subject, the castle, together with the other assets of the monastery of San Savino, became the property of the Gerolamini monks, who, in 1580, they ceded to the Venerable English College in Rome. The Chiapponi family, however, managed to maintain possession of the fiefdom until the extinction of the family branch, which took place in 1796, the year in which the Scotti di San Giorgio family took over. The Scotti, shortly after obtaining the castle, started a tough dispute with the Roman college which, finally, ceded the ownership of the castle following the payment of a large compensation.

After securing possession of the building, the Scottis decided to transform the building into a stately home, carrying out major renovations and modifications. In 1898, after the last heir of the Scotti family had squandered much of the family wealth, the castle was sold to the brothers Antonio and Francesco Lombardi, who kept the property until 1905 when the castle was sold to the brothers Corrado and Giuseppe Manfredi.

At the beginning of the twentieth century the Castle was acquired by the engineer. Giuseppe Manfredi who had it restored in neo-Romanesque style on a project by prof. Camillo Guidotti. In 1938 it was donated to the Ursuline Sisters of Piacenza who lived there until 1987. The current owners have finally used it as a luxurious hotel for conferences and weddings, in deep respect for the historical and artistic value of the structure, thus allowing you to live an experience unique to anyone who wants it.

The castle, with a trapezoidal plan, has 4 towers and is composed of 4 floors each of 1200 square meters, equal to 118 rooms, and three independent kitchens capable of supporting banquets of all types. Among the various rooms elegantly furnished, decorated and painted by hand, we can mention the "Hall of the Blazons" embellished with the insignia of the historic families who lived here and the reception room, created in the evocative rooms of the ancient dungeons.

The Castle also offers the possibility of staying overnight with its fourteen double bedrooms furnished in antique style, with canopy beds and elegant furniture, ideal for those looking for a stay with unique suggestions.

Outside, a wonderful secular park of seven hectares surrounds the castle embellished with two lakes, a pond, fountain and streams, where, thanks also to a particularly favorable microclimate, there are also exotic plants.

Adjacent to the castle stands the small church of San Savino, built in 1859 in Lombard Gothic style, which with its large spaces lends itself to the celebration of weddings, making the wedding day unforgettable.

With a wide range of environments and services, Castello di Rezzanello is the ideal choice for the most varied events, from wedding lunches to meetings, from fashion shows to concerts, guaranteeing the success of every activity thanks to the support of a staff. expert and attentive to details.



Castello di Rezzanello  Memorial to Ferdinando Douglas Scotti, Count of San Giorgio and of Rezzanello

The epigraph was placed by Mons. Lutteri in 1940 for the eightieth anniversary of the foundation of the Gazzola church. It concentrates pre-existing inscriptions, one of which was placed in the lunette above the entrance door; the other in the Chapel of the Baptistery. The slab is in fact intended as a reminder of the reconstruction of the building and of the dedication to S. Savino in the second half of the century. XIX, at the behest of Count Ferdinando Douglas-Scotti. It also commemorates the high relief of Pier Enrico Astorri (now placed in the central lunette of the portal) donated by Prof. Giuseppe Manfredi to the church in 1910 and consecrated by the Bishop Mons. Giovanni M. Pellizzari on 30 September 1912


Further reading:

  • A history of the Douglas-Scotti in Rezzanello [pdf 1.7bm; Italian] This document contains notes on the family's heraldry.  Note:  I would welcome a translation of this document

    See also:
  • Douglas family in Italy
  • Family tree [pdf]

  • Source

    Sources for this article include:
  • Histouring

  • Any contributions will be gratefully accepted


    Back to top


    The content of this website is a collection of materials gathered from a variety of sources, some of it unedited.

    The webmaster does not intend to claim authorship, but gives credit to the originators for their work.

    As work progresses, some of the content may be re-written and presented in a unique format, to which we would then be able to claim ownership.

    Discussion and contributions from those more knowledgeable is welcome.

    Contact Us

    Last modified: Friday, 17 May 2024