Brigton

Click here to 
Print this page

Biography finder

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

Q

R

S

T

U

V

W

X

Y

Z

 

 

Index of first names

Brigton House interior 

 

This page is a stub.  You can help improve it.

The lands of Brigton (or Brigtoune) were originally in the gift of the monarch and included Scroggerfield and Ingliston (or Inglishtoune as it was sometimes known). The Strachans, who acquired the lands from King Robert III toward the end of the 14th century, sold them to Lord Glamis, who in turn, passed them on to his relatives, the Lyons, in 1622.

About 1762 the estate was acquired by the Douglas family and remained with them until financial losses related to the spinning mill in Douglastown, caused much of it to be sold to the Earl of Strathmore. The family retained the house and grounds together with the home farm, and their descendants still live there. Most of the extensive farming land, however, was subsequently acquired by surrounding estates and farmers.

Brigton house, policies and associated buildings such as the stables and servants quarters, icehouse, doocot, walled garden and home farmhouse are fascinating insights into estate life in the parish and several long-standing members of the present community have happy personal memories of life at Brigton.


Source

 

Sources for this article include:
  • Kinnettles and District Heritage Group


  • Any contributions will be gratefully accepted






     

    Back to top

     



    The content of this website is a collection of materials gathered from a variety of sources, some of it unedited.

    The webmaster does not intend to claim authorship, but gives credit to the originators for their work.

    As work progresses, some of the content may be re-written and presented in a unique format, to which we would then be able to claim ownership.

    Discussion and contributions from those more knowledgeable is welcome.

    Contact Us

    Last modified: Tuesday, 01 February 2022